Front sight smoker?

vontar

OK, I came across this and I don't understand the why behind it.  I understand the device and how it works but why do it.

I was looking up some Carbide lamps for my uncle and came across this.  Then they used it to smoke the front sights.

Anyone here do this or similar?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXF0u8OrLdU

Jump ahead to the 3 minute mark if you don't want the whole video.

Edited by vontar

A ridiculously over-complicated solution to a questionable problem.  Some people want to blacken the front sight to prevent glare,  if so just pull out a lighter and burn it or carry around a piece of charcoal.

Edited by Garufa
  • Like 1
We had spray on sight black in boot camp circa early 07. After I got out we always used a lighter, even when I was a range coach. I see no need for anything super fancy. Most people can't shoot good enough with irons at long range to tell the difference anymore.

Most people can't shoot good enough with irons at long range to tell the difference anymore.

I was going to say that I had a long way to go before something like this became a crucial factor in my shooting. Now I'll spend 1/2 my next range trip wondering if I should pull out my lighter to try to improve my shooting. :rolleyes:

I was going to say that I had a long way to go before something like this became a crucial factor in my shooting. Now I'll spend 1/2 my next range trip wondering if I should pull out my lighter to try to improve my shooting. :rolleyes: