learn to shoot

I am new to shooting and would like information on learning how to shoot. I bought a .22lr to learn with. Any information is welcomed, as well as good resources to look into. Also, I am wondering if I should get a shooting bag. I have noticed that many people use them when I am at the range, but I don't know if they are using them specifically for sighting or to improve accuracy. Is this something I should take advantage of or not.

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the wonderful world of gun ownership!! Congrats on your first gun. Tell us about it! We love pictures, too.

To start out, I don't really think you need shootng rests or anything fancy. Right now you should be working on gun safety, sight picture, and trigger control. You can worry about shooting flies at 1,000 yards later. :hat:

Where do you live? There are usually 2 or 3 monthly meets across the state where you can get together with the rest of the crew and learn by (sometimes poor) example. Also, you can shoot lots of different guns and learn what you like and don't like. Look in the "events and gatherings" section for the shoot nearest you.

While there is a lot to be said for reading and learning about guns, there's nothing like learning to shoot by actually shooting!

Happy Plinkin'!

welcome to the club clarky.

i just started recently and love it. it's the great equalizer as they say. i feel safer as more of my family members get involved also - especially in these troubled times. it's also down right fun.

my advise is to frequent forums like these and google all you can to learn about things. go shoot with some folks (as above - meets are great oppurtunities). learn all you can. it's one of the few sports that can really save your life.

Welcome to TGO and congrats on your .22LR purchase.