P.O.S.T question

Guest TNK

My grandfather and I have discussed taking our HCP course. I have looked on a few sites and the closest around is in Columbia, but he would rather do it locally. What questions do I need to ask the locals who do this course to make sure that they are certified. I dont want to go through all the hoops and find out my instructor didnt have the correct certification. Do the instructors have to be P.O.S.T certified? Thanks for any answers...:drool:

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Local is a small town in Lawrence Co. maybe ten thousand people tops

P.O.S.T is peace officer standards and training meaning they are certified in the same regards as a police officer I guess, I just remember reading on a website somewhere to make sure your instructor was such certified.

Guest Phantom6

No, P.O.S.T. (Peace Officer Standards and Training) certification is not required. The instructors must be DOS certified since the handgun carry permit is under the domain of the TN Dept. of Safety. The instructor(s) must show you their certification prior to the class and the class must follow the lesson plan laid out by the Dpt. of Safety which shall last a minimum of 8 hours which will include a 45 minute video presentation supplied by the TN Dept. of Safety.

Nonsense! They just need to be cert to give Handgun Carry Permits.There is really not much to the classes,and what is there is regulated by the state.

Edit: Looks like ghost writer types faster then I

Edited by strickj