9mm shooting to the left.

I'm still pretty new to guns but I went to the range this morning and at 5 yards the bullet hit about 1" 1/2 to the left about 90% of the time.  at 15 yards It was hard to even tell where the bullet went.

The rear sight of my ruger p95 would not move after i loosened the set screw.  Anyone know how to move it and which way I move it to make it accurate?    it's near perfect vertically  though.

Was it just one shot or did you have consistent groups to the left? Was it directly left or low/high left. More often than not it is the shooter rather than the gun. Have someone experienced put a mag through it before monkeying with anything.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
  • Like 2

Was it just one shot or did you have consistent groups to the left? Was it directly left or low/high left. More often than not it is the shooter rather than the gun. Have someone experienced put a mag through it before monkeying with anything.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

It was in groups, I aim a couple inches directly right of bullseye and it hits right on the bullseye.  it's good high and low. 

I vote trigger squeeze (or pull/jerk). Even if the sights were completely cocked over to one side it shouldn't be that far off. I'm assuming they're lined up with the barrel though. Every time I've seen this it has been a fundamentals of marksmanship issue, not the firearm. Edited by TMF

At only 5 yards I'm prone to suggest operator.

Take a look at this:

target_shooting_diagnosis.jpg

so thats saying I have too little trigger finger?  I won't deny i'm not a good shooter, 300 rounds is all ive ever shot. I'll keep working on it to see if i can find the problem and adjust. 

Maybe. The point is don't immediately assume it's the gun.

Why not start at 3 yards and see what happens. Accurate shooting is an acquired accomplishment. What better excuse do you need to shoot more?   :up: