Manning Acquitted of Aiding Enemy--Guilty of Other Counts

Correct me if I'm wrong as I'm not too familiar with the court systems, wouldn't the fact he was acquitted of 'aiding the enemy' indicate that the information he obtained didn't put anyone of our soldiers in harms way as it was too old but rather brought to light some of the events that have occurred which the DOD tried burying? Yes he did in fact break the law but it's info like this which broke Water Gate wide open as well. I'm curious as to everyone elses thoughts on this because when this first happened I was all about hanging a traitor but judging from the result tribunal he wasn't a threat to national security. Again, I dunno, I'm not a lawyer, just a man with some curious questions. :2cents:

Correct me if I'm wrong as I'm not too familiar with the court systems, wouldn't the fact he was acquitted of 'aiding the enemy' indicate that the information he obtained didn't put anyone of our soldiers in harms way as it was too old but rather brought to light some of the events that have occurred which the DOD tried burying? Yes he did in fact break the law but it's info like this which broke Water Gate wide open as well. I'm curious as to everyone elses thoughts on this because when this first happened I was all about hanging a traitor but judging from the result tribunal he wasn't a threat to national security. Again, I dunno, I'm not a lawyer, just a man with some curious questions. :2cents:

There is no way to quantify the damage he did to our military in terms of intelligence and loss of life, but I can tell you with a great degree of certainty that there are many, many dead American Servicemembers due to his actions. I could write an essay outlining so many reasons. It would take days to write. Anyone in the intelligence field who is familiar the stuff he indiscriminately gave away knows the damage it caused.