So I took the easy way first...

Guest bill38506

Guest bill38506

...and got my Virginia non-resident permit. So can anyone tell me, since I am a resident of Tennessee will I be able to legally carry in my home state on my VA/non-res permit? I am going to get my TN permit but I was wondering if the VA will do in the interim.

Thanks all!

Bill

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest bill38506

Longer than 6 months. I found an older thread on here that pretty much answered my question. Looks like I can carry out of state on the VA non-res but not here at home. Makes sense I guess. Now I just need to schedule the 8 hour class I was trying to avoid :-/

Thanks for the reply!

Bill

How much you want to bet on how many TN LEO's would know that you can't carry on another state's permit if you are a resident? I am not saying you should try, but I bet none that you would run into would even know?

Well I wouldn't chance it. Especially carrying a firearm. My wife was pulled over in Clarksville a long while back. She had an out of state license but had been living here for a while. I was in the military and she was a dependent, so she was not required to obtain a resident drivers license. This did not stop the cop from threatening her and giving her a hard time. I suppose if that situation involved a handgun she'd be getting arrested. Kinda dangerous to roll the dice on what some cops do or don't know.

How much you want to bet on how many TN LEO's would know that you can't carry on another state's permit if you are a resident? I am not saying you should try, but I bet none that you would run into would even know?