Close Friend Passed Away

I thought this might be something that could be appreciated here.

I have a forum dedicated to a make and model of automobile that I have been running for just shy of ten years. What and where isn't important. The who and how is.

Through this forum for an obscure and discontinued nameplate I have made a close group of friends. Friends from all over the world. It is amazing how friends from a website can become friends through life.

I have been hosting a small event for the last dozen years at Deal's Gap. We all get together, spends some time on the roads, get some cabins at Fontana and have a great weekend. Through this event and the activity on forum many of the folks I have met I have come to call friends, some, family.

Officer Bruce Daniel Jacob of the Jackson Mississippi Police Dept. was one I considered family.

I have known Bruce for several years through my forum. He became staff, eventually getting to be an administrator of the site within the last year. Bruce was an honest, giving man, and a damn fine mechanic.

Several years ago I blew the engine in my car. Bruce happened to have a replacement engine sitting in his shop. It didn't take much and I wound up loading my car onto a trailer and driving from Knoxville, Tennessee to Jackson, Mississippi to spend the week with he and his wife and swap the engine in my car.  That was the kind of man Bruce was. If you needed it and he had it, it was yours. That was why he became a police officer. He wanted to make a difference in the world. Even if it was one person.

Bruce made a difference to a lot of people.

Saturday afternoon Bruce was responding to a call of debris in the lanes of I-55 through Jackson. As Bruce was putting the barbecue grill someone had dropped into the trunk of his cruiser, he was struck and killed by a car.

He was 35 years old.