Who reloads youth loads for 30-06, or subsonic????

I have wanted to try this for some time.  I have a favorite hunting load for my Sako Finnbear with 150 gr projectiles, but it's time to move my girl and son into large bore and so far I have done a good job of keeping them from flinching etc. I want something they won't get tired of practicing with so when the time comes they make the real shot count.  What are you all using?

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

This probably isn't much of a low recoil round, and no fps to know for sure, but he said all he did was take 10 grains off of his load. He limits his kids shots to about 60 yards.
Using IMR 4350 powder, not posting the charges since I have no personal experience with it.

The problem is with such a large case you are, at a minimum, going to run into inconsistency issues. I did a test once where I pointed the muzzle to the air and shot across a chronograph then pointed at the ground and shot. Both shots were significantly off. The one where the powder was at the rear of the case had higher velocities and the nose down shot had reduced velocities. Something else that can happen is something called Secondary Explosive Effect. What happens there is rather than the powder burning at a constant rate it ignites completely and explodes all at once. This can destroy the gun just like a over charge can.

My suggestion is to find another caliber that has a smaller case capacity. They also make adapter to allow you to shoot 32 ACP out of a 30-06. Not sure how accuracy is but it is safer than running reduced loads.

Here is the chamber insert for $15:

http://www.sportsmansguide.com/net/cb/rifle-chamber-insert.aspx?a=471502

followup to my earlier post - One of the advantages of Trail-Boss for reduced loads is that the case is filled to ~70% or more capacity, reducing the effects of orientation