My EDC is off to the hospital...

My Kershaw Tanto Blur's spring assist failed on me last week after about 3 years and a LOT of playing with it, while not super concerned I figured I'd ship her off to get it repaired and have them replace the blade for $10; I've spent $10 on WAY stupider stuff so I thought, "eh, why not." In the meantime though I think I'm gonna look another folder because my warranty info said it could take up to six weeks and all I have on me is my Gerber Suspension MT, so yeah... any suggestions out here on ze interwebs?

I have a Blackout I used to carry and liked quite a lot. I have switched to sog due to the way the clip mounts. its hides the knife in the pocket better. I liked the mini aegis but am currently carrying the trident model tf7-cp. being a truck mechanic my knives take a beating and both the Kershaw and sog have held up well.

I'm not a knife guy, but since you'll have your knife back in a few weeks, you might consider the Kershaw 1920 multitool. It's my carry around the house because I'm always needing a screwdriver. It opens one handed with a thumb stud and wrist flick. I have the model with the black blade. It looks a little better than the stainless look in this picture, in my opinion. The blade is pretty good... not great... but excellent for a $20 knife.  The blade is 8Cr13Mov.

-font-b-Kershaw-b-font-1920-multifunctio

Edited by jgradyc
  • Like 1

Cool, some of the SpeedSafe Kershaws have one, some don't. I've got 4 or 5 of them, but not the Blur, so didn't know.

- OS

Yeah, it doesn't work with all Speedsafe models. I tried it with the Random Task II and promptly reinstalled the torsion bar because there was no detent.

But a deassisted Blur is the bee's knees. Edited by daddyo

You two are old!  :rofl: