Help pick an AR

After some thinking I'm gonna get an AR. My two choices right now are not close in comparison. The M&P Sport can be found for $699 + shipping + background & transfer. The Colt LE6920 for $1070 + tax + background. I like the M&P for price and reviews have been very positive. They changed from a 1:8 to 1:9 twist but everything else seems to be the same. Only upgrade I would be considering is changing the handguard and stock. The Colt is a Colt. The handguard is also a heat shield but twist is 1:7. I'm still learning/understanding twist rates but I believe the Colt would handle heavier bullets and the M&P the lighter bullets. Would I buy tomorrow (don't know) but hopefully soon. Prices are dropping and availability seems to be increasing.

thanks

The Sport is a great rifle. With that said, and I had the money, I might buy the Colt. You can't go wrong with either. I just like a forward assist and dust cover. It looks like the carry handle can be removed so you can turn it into a flat top if you want to add an optic later.

... I like the M&P for price and reviews have been very positive. They changed from a 1:8 to 1:9 twist but everything else seems to be the same....

No longer 5R rifling either, and the lining is simply not mentioned now, so?

It was one of the best production barrels in the industry, which is one thing that made it such a killer deal, and actually sort of a mystery how their high end barrel wound up on their cheapest rifle. Still a fine firearm, no doubt, but not the killer deal it was, IMO.

- OS

• Like 1