DoubleStar AR

Guest Kimber.45acp

Guest Kimber.45acp
So is there no way to tell.other than shooting it / changing the upper.what if its a 556 upper already and the purchase of a new one would be worthless..except having another upper
Guest Kimber.45acp
K I found the stamp 5.56 NATO 1/9 twist so I'm good to shoot both 4556 and 223 correct.. Any other info about AR any at all little bits large bits would be appreciated I'm a complete newb here..

K I found the stamp 5.56 NATO 1/9 twist so I'm good to shoot both 4556 and 223 correct.. Any other info about AR any at all little bits large bits would be appreciated I'm a complete newb here..

If the barrel is stamped 5.56 1/9 then yes you are fine shooting both 5.56 & .223 out of it.

I'm not clear on exactly what you are asking about little/large bits though? So I'm guessing if you provide a bit more detail on exactly what it is you have a question about you'd probably get better feedback from your fellow TGO'ers.

I believe the little bits, large bits means he is trying to learn and is receptive to any and all information.  It doesn't matter if it is a small amount of info (little bits) or volumns of info (large bits).  What a great opportunity for you guys with knowledge to help someone learn.

"Multi-caliber" marking has no actual practical meaning on an AR-15 lower.

"Multi" (as some say, without mention of "caliber") seems to have become sort of a convention back when AR pistols first came in vogue, mainly signifying that it wasn't a "rifle", and might have been a nod to certain state laws where registration is necessary along with type of firearm.  There are even lowers made in the past that say "pistol" on them, but I believe most of them were assembled as pistols from the manufacturer. My PSA lowers just say "multi" for instance, no "cal" or "caliber".