Complete novice to concealed carry

Guest DylisTN

Guest DylisTN

I've always had a handgun and carried in My car when I lived in FL. Just now got a TN hand gun carry permit so I could carry in my car.

Now considering (have been for about 3 months) concealed carry. Been researching and asking questions on this forum.

I'm down to Kel-Tec pocket pistols. (Kel-Tec for price, and reputation for service, Life time warranty . . .)

PF9

P11

P3At

I'm not comfortable with a waist carry, So I'll need a pocket gun

Like the 9mm Nato round as opposed to the 380 auto just because of the power. But the 380 auto is .77 inches wide and the P11 1 inch. The PF9 is in between.

P11

Things I like: 9mm Nato round, availability of high cap mags, Mags reasonable and available on gunbroker, can add tritium night sites for $85.

Don't like: Largest of the 3

P3AT

Things I like: Smallest of the 3 , can be carried in back pocket in a wallet like holster

Don't like: weaker, but still adequate round

P9

Things I like: 9mm Nato round, Smaller than the P11, Accessory rail ( How likely am I to use this?)

Don't like: Larger than the P3At

I'm looking for opinions on the trade offs between these 3 models.

From folks who have experience with these guns.

In practice

, how significant are the size differences?

, How practical is it to carry a 9mm in your pocket?

, other considerations.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Also thanks for previous advice

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The most important thing...how easy is that pocket 9 to shoot? The p3At is quite the handful with the .380 round. The 9mm would kinda suck to shoot. Out of those short barrels you might want to look a little harder at the .380

...it isn't the weak round that people make it out to be....closest comparison would be a .38 special.

, how significant are the size differences?

, How practical is it to carry a 9mm in your pocket?

, other considerations.