Advice for Someone Thining About Starting to Handload/Reload

Folks-

I'm becoming more and more interested in handloading and reloading my own ammo.  I have never done it before, and I have not bought any supplies or equipment as of yet.  However, it seems like it would really interest me, as well as make my shooting hobby more affordable in the long run.

I have read through a lot of threads in this section of the forums, and I have a book on the way that was suggested in one of the 'pinned' threads, ABCs of Reloading. I'm really looking forward to diving into that book.

I'm primarily interested in loading .223/5.56 as well as 9mm. That might expand to shotgun shells someday, but I'm more interested in the calibers mentioned.

I have no doubt that I'll get any supplies through David, as most of you do-

My main questions would be, what suggestions would you folks, who are experienced in the art, have for someone like me who is looking to get started?  Any golden nuggets of information I should keep in mind, or pitfalls to be aware of? Good brands of equipment vs. not so good (that may be subjective at least to a point)?  Anything I should know or do before I buy equipment?

Also, are there any handloading/reloading 'classes' around I might be able to attend?

I consider myself to be a reasonably bright person, and I'm confident that I'll be able to get the hang of loading safe and reliable rounds, but never having done it before, it is somewhat intimidating simply because there seems to be so much to know and learn-  almost like learning a foreign language.

Thanks folks-  lots of questions, I know, but I appreciate whatever responses you may have-

Read that manual first. Then make a wishlist. Get on here and ask questions as needed. Were you closer, I'd be happy for you to come here and walk you through the process. I expect there are some on here that are closer who would do the same.