Your experience with .400 Corbon handgun

greyofk

I studied the geometry and loading data for .400 Corbon. I also read a lot of reviews and range reports about this cartridge. I've got impression that reliability issues prevented widespread of this (excellent in theory) round.
In theory a bottleneck case should feed better than a straight case. In real life it mostly depends on the magazine. Most of .400 Corbon handguns were converted from .45 ACP. I had not heard about any special mags.

My questions are:

1. Who ever had .400 gun or converted other calibre to .400?
2. How reliable was the action?
3. Did you use factory loads or handloads?
4. Did you make .400 brass from .45 ACP brass?
5. How did the gun function with your handloads?
  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It is not so obvious.
.400 Corbon to 10mm relation is similar to .357 SIG to 9x23 Winchester relation. 9x23 is undeniably great cartridge. However .357 SIG is more common.
The key of .357 SIG success was great pistols from ZIG and easy conversion
I would like to try .400 Corbon, but I can not find a range that rents such a gun
[quote name='greyofk' timestamp='1354411199' post='853580']
I studied the geometry and loading data for .400 Corbon. I also read a lot of reviews and range reports about this cartridge. I've got impression that reliability issues prevented widespread of this (excellent in theory) round.
In theory a bottleneck case should feed better than a straight case. In real life it mostly depends on the magazine. Most of .400 Corbon handguns were converted from .45 ACP. I had not heard about any special mags.

My questions are:

[color=#0000FF]Yes, I fired 5 rounds and converted it back to 45 ACP[/color]
[color=#0000FF]100% reliable. Bottleneck calibers tend to be more reliable than straight walled calibers. Like 357 sig or 7.62x25 Tokarev[/color]
[color=#0000FF]I used Factory Corbon ammo. 135 grain stuff at 1,450 fps[/color]