S&W M&P sporter 15

Andyshowfan

Went by my local gun shop today in Sevierville (jfloyds) and they are running a fall sale till the 15th. They have the m&p sport 15 on sale for 599.99. I had a double star in lawaway so I went, got a refund and put the smith in its place :)

Edited by Andyshowfan

BTW, I am a noob when it comes to the AR platform. Does it really matter that the smith does not have a forward assist or dust cover?

The short answer, from what I've learned in recent conversations, is "no, not really."

If you're going to be trekking through the muck with your rifle, the dust cover and forward assist will help. If you keep,your rifle clean and free of debris, you'll be fine without them.

I'm sure I'm missing some other nuances but that's what I've been told.

BTW, I am a noob when it comes to the AR platform. Does it really matter that the smith does not have a forward assist or dust cover?

I have a DPMS and the S&W M&P 15,and to me it doesn't matter.Now to some it does,but I don't plan on playing in a sandbox with mine.I think its a matter of preference and what type of conditions they are to be used in.

I have the M&P that has these features. The dust cover, while nice, is absolutely worthless for a gun that goes from safe to range to safe again without any exposure to, well, dust!

I have used the FA once when I made a bad batch of ammo that every 5th or so round did not quite chamber. Fixed the issue with my reloading and never used it again.

So, as others said, mostly worthless. And certainly not worth the $150 more that model costs.

I know the Sport doesn't have a forward assist in what people speak of today but technically it still has the original form of forward assist with the thumb cutout in the bolt.

Yep, and short of maybe life or death situation with the very last round you had on you, can't see how using more force than that would ever be advisable.

- OS

Guest robin.kempton