Not the normal question about buying a handgun out of state

MadMarx

At a gunshow awhile ago I noticed there was a dealer from Kentucky at a show in Tennessee, I have also noticed Georgia dealers at TN shows and TN dealears at GA shows. As a TN resident, I know I can not purchase a handgun from a GA dealer at a gunshow in TN or GA with out having a TN FFL handling the transfer. I know I can not purchase from an out of state resident without an instate FFL doing the transfer.

Here is the basic question with variations following:

Can I as a TN resident, purchase a handgun from a TN FFL who is at a gunshow in GA, with the normal paperwork and TBI background check?

Could I purchase a handgun from a GA FFL at a show in GA, have it transferred to a TN FFL who is also at that show and then take "delivery" of the handgun from the TN FFL while still at the gunshow in GA?

Can I as a TN resident purchase from a current TN Resident who at that particular moment is physically in Georgia?

Does the physical location of the sale matter or is it just the residency of the 2 sale participants?

As an example, I know someone who works in Dalton GA and lives in Chattanooga. He works in Dalton with a guy who lives in Cleveland TN.

Could the Chattanooga TN guy sell a gun to the Cleveland TN guy while on their lunch break in Dalton GA?

I have not done any of the above, nor do I know anybody who has, but living right on the border with GA, and knowing about the huge gunshow that is coming up in Atlanta in September with 2000 tables, I would like to know the legalities of these particular situations.

Thanks

Not sure about the law, but the dealers will do strange things sometimes. I once bought a gun in GA at a show by having the GA dealer "transfer" it to the next booth (tn dealer). I have no idea if this was legal, they both said it was, but they wanted money and I wanted the gun....

• Like 1