Educate me on 22LR vs 22 Mag please

Guest motonut

Guest motonut

I've had an itch for a .22 revolver. I've got .22 pistols (BuckMark & Sig 220 w/ 22 conv.) and 22 rifle so I know a little about the round. Most of what I've shot is .22LR with some 22 MiniMag and Shorts thrown in. However I have no experience w/ the .22 Mag round. How prevelant is the .22 mag?

The reason I got curious is I have been looking at the Taurus 94 which is a 9 shot .22LR and the Taurus 941 which is a .22 Mag. Am I right to assume that a .22LR would also be able to shoot a round such as the CCI MiniMag?

With what I know right now I'm leaning twords the 9 shot .22LR but would like to know a little more about the Mag.

• Admin Team

MiniMags are .22LR rounds.

As a general rule, a .22LR revolver will be capable of shooting .22LR and .22 short rounds, but not .22WMR. There are plenty of .22WRM revolvers that include or make available .22LR cylinders.

you cannot interchange them. The bullets and barrels are close, but the case is a little different and won't quite interchange. So the ones that fire both are typically revolvers that have 2 cylinders or specially made chambers in a long gun like a lever action.

Its pretty common. Most places carry the ammo, its not any more expensive than cheap 9mm, say $10 or so for 50.

My wife tried the S&W airweight and since christmas, the cylinder cracked at the center, repaired but she is gonna sell that one. She is replacing with the taurus, which so far seems to be solid steel and well made but gritty and rough action. Both had horrid DA trigger pulls and decent SA pulls.

It has a lot of energy and low mass, is a flat shooting penetrator of a round. Compare the energy to major calibers, its close... not quite a 38 special and more than a 380 if I remember right, somewhere in that energy neighborhood.

Edited by Jonnin