New Pistol Accuracy

sschrick

How often does a new pistol need adjustments of the sights?

I currently own a Springfield XD9, Springfield EMP 9 and Bersa Thunder 380.

All of which I consider I am still learning the particulars of each gun and their respective triggers. They are fairly accurate, even though I am still not totally blowing out the bullseye when I go to the range.

I am a member of a few forums and read a lot online about people that "claim" their new pistol is not hitting where they aim it and they send it back for warranty work. How often is this truly the case that it is the pistol vs. just the shooter?

How many rounds and how many different people should shoot the gun before determining it is truly a gun problem?

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

As Garufa said the majority of accuracy problems are shooter induced. People don't shoot well then they try to blame the firearm. For most people it takes work to shoot well.

I would let anyone who will pull the trigger shoot it. Having only a couple of people shoot it won't give a good idea of overall accuracy.

The majority of pistols come close to where they need to be but few are exactly lined up with the sights. I will shoot at 100 yards to determine how the zero is. Of course it will be low but other than that it should be centered. And it doesn't take much of an adjustment to see impacts move at 100 yards.

Dolomite

Another factor people ignore is that different cartridge loads often have different point of impact. My CZ75 has the sights adjusted to shoot point of aim at 50ft with the Remington 124gr HP loads I use for self-defense. With the S&B 124gr FMJ it shoots about 3" low and left. Aguila 124gr FMJ shoots about the same distance high and left. My 124gr FMJ reloads with 2400 powder shoot 4" to the right. I do not adjust my sights when shooting practice ammo. I merely try to keep my point of aim the same and keep my groups small.