Want custom build an AR-15

Guest dakota.d

Guest dakota.d

I'm wanting to custom build a short barrel ar15 from ground up and im new to this. I have owned a couple but they were already built. I'm wanting to know where to start. I want it to be upgraded if it can (heavy duty). I'm looking for good brands, mil-spec parts, match barrel, optics and etc. Whats the parts list in building one. Any help is appreciated.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Here is my first build.Its a bushmasters upper with yankee hill rails,brownells flat gas block,yankee hill flash suppressor,dpms t ahndle and bcg

Lower is a spikes tatical,dpms parts kit,magpul stock,trigger guard,afg2 fore grip,moe pistol grip and tac out light with pressure switch

eotech optics

toy2.jpg

481.jpg

When you say short barrel, do you mean a registered SBR?

That requires a little more involvement that I don't know much about.

If you're just wanting to build a 16 inch carbine, That's easy.....provided you have the money. That's always my stumbling block.:popcorn:

You need to dig around the thread here on TGO http://www.tngunowners.com/forums/show-tell/1480-post-pictures-your-evil-black-rifle.html

88 pages and counting of awesome hardware. Find the one that makes you jump and make that your pattern to start. You need to have an idea of what you want it to look like or you'll be all over the place hunting parts.

Since you have owned a couple, I will assume that you are familiar with the ATF process for the tax stamp. For a SBR, I would recommend using a M16 BCG and a heavier buffer. I have a 7.5" SBR and I use a spikes ST-T2 heavy buffer and works very well. The BCG i used as a Young Manufacturing M16 National Match chrome. One of the best out there.

I know you said you want to build one from ground up, but Im selling my complete upper on here if you're interested.