Buthering deer at home

tercel89

I have always butchered my own deer . I shoot them , skin them and butcher them all on my own . I am self taught as my father was a but-hole and wouldnt teach my brother and me anything . I have always cut off and kept almost every and I mean every part of the deer to eat . even the front leg meat and meat that most people throw away all the time . I dont waste it at all . I eat it all . I dont believe in taking it to a place to process it , I do it all . SO ......I was wondering if any of you guys do this and if you do , I would like to know a way to get the "proper" cuts out of the deer like how to get the rib meat out or how to "properly" cut the different segments and cuts out . I have did it my own way so long that I would like to see a different way . Kinda like the drawings you see of cows in a butcher store where there is a cow with drawing on where the sirloin is and the rump roast and the flank steak and such .

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I always process my own deer. I have used processors before but I enjoy doing it myself. If you pm me your email I will send you a great video on processing. You can also find processing videos on youtube.

Cool , thanks and I got a pm headed your way !

I have helped my grandfather butcher deer before, but I have always taken my own deer to a processor. I want to do it myself starting this year. I don't remember everything my grandfather did, but I remember enough to get some steaks and backstraps. I need to watch a video myself

Guest Spurhunter

The one deer I took to get processed came back as half of what I thought it would, and it had an odd taste. I have probably done at least 75 deer myself, maybe more. I trim meat VERY lean, and I try to put up at least 75 -100 lbs of ground each year. Thats at least 5 deer worth of ground. It takes time to do it right, but my whole family help me out when its time to grind and seal the ground.