Got permit today, thoughts racing

Guest tnalways4me

Guest tnalways4me

After waiting 17 days I received my HCP today. :lol:

After shooting for a little over 6 months now, I never really thought twice about my willingness to use my weapon for self defense.

Well, I carried for the first time today and the reality actually hit me. I was thinking about the type of situation that could possibly arise. I know that if I was in life threatening danger I would have the guts to do the right thing, not only for myself and my loved ones, but for any other innocent people that could possibly be involved with me. But being completely honest, the thought frightened me.

Tell me your opinions on how you felt when you first began carrying. How do you prepare yourself mentally to do the right thing if need be?

I knew what I was getting myself into when I got this firearm and that I should not consider carrying if I do not think I can do what is necessary. As a rookie, I just have thoughts racing through my head and am looking for some wise words from experienced members in the CCW community.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the club. Done your Wally Walk yet?

Seriously, carry as often as you can, get all the training that you can (and afford), and be be situationally aware at all times.

If you conceal carry, don't worry. Most people don't notice and most of those that do, won't care.

If you open carry, don't worry. Most people don't notice and most of those that do, won't care.

Guest Miracle

What you are talking about is something that really cannot be taught, or really even passed on from one person to another. To know that you have the capability to take a life at a moments notices brings with it a HUGE responsibility. But as for the mindset part, you have to realize one simple thing that I have always held to, being in Iraq in a combat situation.