Newbie tanning question: can I use pH balanced shampoo on a pelt?

Guest cjeanean

Guest cjeanean

Hi, I'm new to tanning animal hides and this site, so sorry if this is in the wrong place! I'm wondering if a pH balanced shampoo (5.5 pH) can be used to wash a hair-on coonskin. If so, would it hurt to wash it with the shampoo after pickling, or would any washing need to happen before the pickle? I degreased in white fuel and washed with a basic soap, but I don't think the washing did much good. I've been lurking on quite a few forums and saw that although Dawn is recommended by many people for washing/degreasing some people have problems with it, and since this is my first try I thought I'd use a non-detergent soap. After doing more reading and research, I saw that the pH of the skin is a very big factor in preventing slippage as well in aiding the absorption of the tanning agent (skin pH below 7) and the shampoo is pH 5.5 (it's not for pelts, though). The pickle bath is at a pH of about 1.5 with a soak time of 3 days.

So here it is in a nutshell:

1. Can a pH 5.5 shampoo be used on a pelt?

2. If so, can the shampoo be used after pickling?

Thanks!!!!

Edited by cjeanean
  • Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest cjeanean

I actually sent him a message :P He seems to know what he's talking about! I was just hoping someone might be able to answer the questions for me sooner....thanks!

Guest cjeanean
i haven't got a clue , but welcome to TGO .

Thanks :D I got a reply from wd-40, and went ahead and used the shampoo. It doesn't seem to have done any harm. I don't know when hair slippage would show up if it was going to, but so far it looks good. I got the stuff from Sally's Beauty Supply, it's pH balanced shampoo for hair treated with semi-permanent colors. Thanks for the replies and the welcome!

Guest GT_Rat

Got to admit it took a couple readings before I realized you were talking about hide tanning. :)