Trying to decide whether to build or buy my first AR...any suggestions/advice?

Conley

I grew up shooting normal ol' country boy guns, but I recently shot a friend's AR and fell in love. My first question is simple; should I build or buy? It looks fairly simple to do, but I've never done it before. Any advice at all? Also, if you have a sweet AR for sale I'd be interested.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest nysos

I am building my first, upper included. I figured I could buy a cookie cutter beginner AR, and end up spending $1000 upgrading it over the next year of owning it....or just build it how I want from the start. That, and I like tinkering with things. Even if I could have bought the same AR for the same amount, pre-assembled, I would have still bought all the pieces individually so I could put it together.

Just my .02, personal preference though. There are different levels of "building" or "putting together". Can get a complete upper, stripped lower, throw in your lower parts kit, or get a partially assembled lower, etc. I believe there are a couple of ARs for sale currently in the classified section as well...

I'm the same way; I like to tinker. It interests me to say that I built the gun. I'm wanting a possible long range rifle, so i'm thinking 20" barrel, even though I originally thought that might be a little long. Thoughts?

I've also come to the conclusion that I need a 1/8 twist just because that seems like I'll be able to hunt with it and shoot at the range and not run into any problems. Am I right?

My only issue with building vs "putting together" is that I'm not currently sure exactly all the parts that I'll need for the rifle. I know what I want it to look like externally, but internally I'm at the beginning.