Yote Question

Guest mds3d

I want to learn to hunt Coyotes sometime in the next year. I feel like I need to find a place to hunt first. How do you go about finding a person that needs a coyote problem controlled?

I thought about going up to one of the WMA's that allows Centerfire after deer season is over, but I was hoping to find somewhere closer.

Also, I have no experience calling. Is there any harm in going out and practicing calling? I haven't chosen my rifle yet, so I would be going unarmed.

Thanks

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Talking to people is the best way to gain property to hunt. Last weekend I was driving down a road near the lake. I pulled over and talked to a fella fixing fence. In about 20min or so I had a new place to hunt. Now it's not the best property, but this guy knows everyone around him. This may help with other land owners.

Check the regs before hunting WMA's. For most WMA's if deer season is out you are limited to rimfire and shotgun.

If you want to practice do it at home. If you call in hawks, crow, dogs, etc. you are doing it right. Scout your hunting areas before calling.

Talking to people is the best way to gain property to hunt. Last weekend I was driving down a road near the lake. I pulled over and talked to a fella fixing fence. In about 20min or so I had a new place to hunt. Now it's not the best property, but this guy knows everyone around him. This may help with other land owners.

Check the regs before hunting WMA's. For most WMA's if deer season is out you are limited to rimfire and shotgun.

If you want to practice do it at home. If you call in hawks, crow, dogs, etc. you are doing it right. Scout your hunting areas before calling.