First year Muzzleloader - Suggestions

Guest clutepc

Guest clutepc

This is my first year hunting with a Muzzleloader.

I'm open to any suggestions anyone has..

I bow hunted all year last year and thought I would try something new this year.

I bought a CVA Optima, no scope, I'm happy with it so far, it was easy to get sighted in.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Get up in a tree. Keep quiet. De-scent as best you can. If you were seeing deer during archery, you'll be fine for muzzle loader.

+1 on getting the rifle scoped and zeroed. Speed loaders are nice but generally if you miss, that attempt is done. I did have one occasion back when I used a caps rifle before 209's became the standard that went "pop" instead of bang on one dumb doe. She was amazed at this critter up in a tree that made popping sounds then moved around to carefully stick a pipe cleaner down the nipple and reload another cap. She went home with me as she did not want to pollute the gene pool.

Get up in a tree. Keep quiet. De-scent as best you can. If you were seeing deer during archery, you'll be fine for muzzle loader.

+1 on getting the rifle scoped and zeroed. Speed loaders are nice but generally if you miss, that attempt is done. I did have one occasion back when I used a caps rifle before 209's became the standard that went "pop" instead of bang on one dumb doe. She was amazed at this critter up in a tree that made popping sounds then moved around to carefully stick a pipe cleaner down the nipple and reload another cap. She went home with me as she did not want to pollute the gene pool.

HAHAHAHAHAHA.

Dry Powder (I like the Pellets) and speed loaders. That I can bring to the table.

Guest Carryin Counselor

+1 on speed loaders. Muzzleloading is my favorite hunting. Although one shot is typically all you, the deer don't know where the shot came from. So, if you miss be patient, they usually don't run far and sometimes come back.

Guest clutepc