Walther P22 (22LR) . Who has had problems with this gun?

perstare

We (my wife and I) bought a Walthers P22 for her use about ten days ago. It works fine (I should hope so!... we bought it brand new).

By accident, I came across a video in which the narrator described (and showed) several serious shortcomings in the basic design of the gun: (For example, the weakness of the takedown lever plastic suggested that it would fail. Secondly, the top of the hammer rubbed the top inside of the slide when a round was fired. The weapon actually DID malfunction because of that.)

I am a newbie. I own two .40 cal Glocks (#27 and #23 -- The smallest one, and the next size up). I love 'em.

My wife (strong of spirit, weak of wrist) couldn't handle the Glocks so we bought the Walthers P22 for her. If you are an experienced gun owner/handler and you have years of experience to call on, help me to put the Walthers issue "in proper perspective," That is, to put it simply, should I worry that my wife might be hurt in the future because of the criticisms that I saw in that video?

Just give me a clue. Thank you.

Mike B

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The front sight keeps falling off of my P22.

One of the magazines has lost the "loading button" on the side of the magazine. It's the part that you slide down with your thumb to facilitate loading, and it also lifts the slide lock when the mag is empty.

Other than that, it's worked perfectly well, when loaded with good ammo. Mine like CCI Mini Mags.

My wife put 200 trouble-free rounds through her P22 in our first range session with 4 different types of ammo.

Regarding the videos / reviews out there on any handgun, my opinion is there are more non-failures reported than failures.

The reviews are things that could go wrong, not stuff that will go wrong.

When you look at cars, how many hard-core "will never buy again" stories have you seen vs. the hundreds of thousands of satisfied owners.