I have a question about Garands...

Guest Jon-L

So I've been considering getting one for DMR purposes (attaching a scope and whatnot) this next tax season and I've come across this delima time and time again: 30.06 or .308?

I've looked at some ballistics charts and they seem to be the same, except 308 is much more plentiful in my area (and easier to find online--the good stuff) and also flatter-shooting. But I like the 30.06 for the fact it was the caliber that the rifle was originally chambered in during the wars it fought. It's a hard decision for me, especially since I don't want to seem like I'm insulting a classic by wrapping it around another caliber.

Make sense?

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Exactly what I was afraid of, some people wouldn't agree with me doing something like this.

Darn Skippy! I am by no means an expert, but I do know something about Garands and mil-surps in general. You might want to check the CMP forum or gunbroker and find either an M1C or M1D (which is gonna cost ya) that was originally drilled & tapped if you want a collector's piece or find a Garand made by Springfield Armory in the past few years and have your way with it.

Have you considered and M1A? You'll have the same amount of $ into when done?

Thanks for the info, Loon, but I really don't want to replace the rear sight. I would like to have the option between irons and magnification (sounds silly, doesn't it?).

If you want a Garand, get one. It'll have a 1 in 12 twist barrel, only be able to be cleaned from the muzzle of a non floated barrel. Also the clip loading system will limit scope mounting options as long as they're offset to the left.

However, if you're looking for a semi-auto DMR, I would suggest the AR-10 platform. Endless barrel options; free floated too, box magazine feeding system, rail mounting points for any accessory your heart or mission desires and finallly, parts galore.