Building a 1911

Alpha13

Disclaimer: I am relatively new to the gun world but I am willing to learn

Now on to the question: I am wondering if you can build a 1911 from parts.

little details such as:

is it legal to completely build it from parts?

Is the process so over complicated that it is not worth doing?

Will the cost make it worth buying something like a RIA and modding it?

Am I just plum :P?

I lean towards the smaller setups 3" barrels and such, would not mind making it a system that can interchange barrels and slides. Is that even possible?

Thanks in advance,

A

ps: I am not interested in making this a debate about brands, I know there are certain 1911's that most prefer.

pps: I know that the bigger the barrel the better but I like smaller for carry... So please save the debates oversize for another thread

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yes, you can build a 1911 from parts and it is perfectly legal. The only part that has to be purchased from an FFL would be the frame. But it's not like putting an AR-15 together, there is a lot of fitting involved. Nearly every part will have to be fitted by hand, even if it is a "drop in" part. You could easily buy an RIA complete for the cost of a slide and frame and modify it from there.

Personally, I wouldn't even think of trying to build an officer(3-3.5" barrel) sized pistol though.

It's possible, it's legal, I've done it. The only thing you'll have trouble with is staking the plunger tube - I had a gunsmith do mine.

It was fun and I learned a LOT about how 1911's function (and malfunction). The only hand-fitting I had to do was to polish the sides of the hammer just a little. Sear springs are finicky.

Parts were expensive 25 years ago -- I imagine they're worse now.