Shooting non-brass ammo out of the AR15, is that a problem?

chunkee

I was out shooting my new AR15 S&W MP15. A person there commented that I was shooting ****ty ammo through a nice gun, the ammo is Wolf (steel case) ammo that I bought from AimSurplus. It clean the rifle very thorough and it fired without any problems. Does the Russian, steel ammo cause problems with the rifle? Should I be using a brass bullet?

Thanks.

Everyone has an opinion, but I am new to this and want to find out what the deal is behind his comment.

JC

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The newer polymer coated Wolf ammo is fine, AFAIK. The older laquer coated stuff could cause a problem, in any gun.

The steel cases may be a little harder on extractors and do not expand quite as much in the chamber, leaving more residue there, but replacing an extrator is easy and cleaning is easy.

You can't beat 20 cents a round. Brass-cased stuff is going to be a minimum of 35-40 cents each. Unless you want to win a medal in something, use the Wolf (or Silver Bear), clean the chamber and enjoy. Just stay away from Brown Bear or anything laquer coated.

When I took the Defensive Carbine class through CIS, there were two guys running Wolf ammo. They had TONS of problems in the class. Although it was hard for me to gauge how much difference there was between the rest of us and those two guys, my guess is that they had at least 3 to 4 times the number of jams/failures that the rest of us had.

As stated above, it may be more of an issue with the lacquer coating and the steel casing. However, having seen the number of problems those guys had with it, I certainly would not want to trust it if the ammo is for self-defense. Maybe using it for target practice would be okay, but that's as far as I would go.

Guest Plainsman