Mossberg 100 ATR questions

Guest fourspdRAT

Guest fourspdRAT

I have a Mossberg 100 ATR in .308 Winchester. I'm new to rifles and I'm struggling to shoot 2" groups at 100 yards. I've only shot 2 different types of ammo: Hornady Match 168gr BTHP, and Hornady Custom 150gr SST InterLocks. I was shooting off a bench, with the rifle on a bipod. I'm controlling my breathing and trying to be steady. I've done some dry firing practice and I'm not jerking the trigger. The scope is the 3-9 scope that came on the rifle. I know it's probably a cheap scope and I plan to replace it, but I would think it would be good enough for 100 yards. Anybody have any suggestions to help my accuracy?

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest fourspdRAT
scope not damaged and rings tight?

What went on during shipping, I have no idea but since I have owned the gun it has not been dropped, banged around or anything of the sort. I have noticed that sometimes the crosshairs will not focus and I have to slightly adjust the zoom to get them into focus. That may be something normal for scopes, but again, I'm new to this stuff.

The first time I went to the range with this gun, after the first few groups I noticed my accuracy was way off. The rings had loosened up. Now I keep an allen head set with me and check their tightness every so often. They haven't loosened up since I had to tighten them the first time.

Guest fourspdRAT
What kind of rings? That might be your problem. If the rings are not tight your scope might be moving.

Uh.. I don't know. But I do have a picture! :D

2010-05-15221430.jpg

Guest godgunsanddogs

I"d blame the rings, then scope, have you let someone else shoot it to see if they could do any better since you are new to rifles, bye the way I have been shooting rifles over 15 years & 3 or 4 inch groups are my best, just never got good with one, thats why I stick to shotguns.

Guest coldblackwind