Floating Barrels

dats82

I have an older post-64 model 70 Winchester. It is from back when they really made them in the US by Winchester. Anyway, my question is, can I remove a little material off the stock to really float the barrel? It seems like it is trying to float now, but it won't pass the dollar test. There is not attachment from the stock to barrel, and I can see the contact points when I remove the stock. It is only out toward the foregrip where it is touching. I was planning on just using some sand paper to give it a little room under there. Of course I would re-seal the stock after sanding it. I am just looking for a little advise on this. Thank you for your help.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

A word of caution, 1st I'm no expert on Winchester Model 70's.

How does the rifle shoot now, does it shoot good groups off a bench?

Your more common hunting rifles are just screwed into a wood stock and have specific factory designed pressure points in the forend area, thus not all barrel are free floated. As a general rule free floating a barrel requires bedding of the action to the stock and then relieving the barrel channel (removing wood from around barrel). It is possible that if you remove a designed stock pressure point you will ruin the stock and ruin the degree of accuracy you now have. To do a floating barrel properly

you need to pilliar bed the action and relieve the barrel channel. I would not

recommend just removing forend pressure points by themselves.

It is a post-64. If it were pre, I would not do anything to it. It shoots halfway respectable groups, but who does not want their rifle to be more interesting?

The stock does not appear to have obvious pressure pads, and it is not tight where it is contacting. In other words, I do not think this is an engineered pad.