HCP Residency Requirements

Guest Oldsniper

Guest Oldsniper

I am a long time TN resident, but in recent years I live in FL about half the time. Every 1-2 months I go to FL for a couple of months and then come back to TN. I am a legal homesteader in FL. My driver license is from FL. I consider myself a resident of both states.

I want to carry in both FL and TN. I need some good advice on how to do that. I am confused. Can I claim that I am a TN resident if I have a FL driver license? If I do get a HCP in TN, will I be able to also carry in FL? And vice versa.

Any help would be appreciated.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I want to carry in both FL and TN. I need some good advice on how to do that. I am confused. Can I claim that I am a TN resident if I have a FL driver license? If I do get a HCP in TN, will I be able to also carry in FL? And vice versa. ...

Might be tricky to show residency in TN without a TN driver's license, unless you claimed you didn't drive or something. You may consider yourself a "dual resident", but neither FL or TN will likely share that sentiment.

Unless there's a downside I don't know about, simplest sounds like for you to just get FL permit since you keep a FL DL. FL handgun permit fine in TN and vice versa. Just note that the carry laws vary some between the two states so be sure to read up on both.

You could probably get a resident permit from one state and a non-resident permit from the other, but I don't really see a reason for the complexity and expense.

Both permits are honored pretty much same nationwide, about 38 states.

You can compare the two:

http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/tennessee.pdf

http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/florida.pdf

- OS