Everything About .243 Rifles

Sidewinder

I'm interested in getting into some coyote, as well as deer hunting. I'm looking for a gun that can do both reasonably well, without breaking the bank on gun or ammo price. I've heard the .243 is the ideal caliber for yotes, and that it's capable of harvesting a Tennessee white tail also.

I'm basically interested in hearing from people with actual experience with this round, and the "pros and cons", if any, in these two applications. I have no experience at all with this round, and am interested in what type action these .243 guns are available in, and the middle of the road price range for them. I'm also interested in actual performance of the .243 in these two applications. Opinions are OK too, but some actual field type facts would be very beneficial.

I'm not trying to start WWlll here, just trying to learn all I can about the whole situation around the .243. If you currently own, or have owned and shot the .243 in these applications, I hope you'll tell us about your experiences, good and bad. I have other "deer" rifles, and shotguns, but suspect they may be a little heavy handed for yotes, and more expensive as well.

Is the .243 capable of filling the coyote and Tennessee white tail deer hunting requirements/expectations? I'm aware of the "no center fire" ammo on WMAs during deer season.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Straight Shooter

I have hunted for over two decades with a .243,and it will kill ANYTHING in this state,and many others. We just had a conversation today at the range about this. It is an excellent cartridge,and I recommend 100 grain bullets for deer. I can tell how "gun savvy" a person is when I hear" a .243 wont kill a deer". I always try to get them to bet with me,but,oddly enough,I cant get any takers.

My last seven or eight deer were all one shot kills.

Try it....youll like it.