Dirty Ammo

Harold

First of all let me say I am newbie here.. Been carrying less than a month and learning for the past two months. So please forgive if this question has been ask before.

I have read countless messages referring to "dirty ammo" and "clean-burning ammo".

I know some "dirtiness" comes from bullet lube; some comes from incompletely burned powder.

Is "dirty" ammo really dirty?

What makes ammo "dirty" or "clean-burning"?

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

• Administrator

Powder that doesn't combust fully inside the chamber tends to foul more because it's still burning as the gasses propel it down the length of the barrel. This can be caused by using slow burning powder, not seating the projectile properly, etc.

Soviet surplus ammo is my friend. dirty ammo means ammo with dirtier burning powder, as tgodave mentioned. also if you are using the wrong ammo for your gun,(certains rates of twist with faster or slower moving bullets) you'd get more lead or copper fowling in the barrel.

"Dirty" ammo is the addition of graphite to adjust the burn rate as well as the original components in propellant manufacture. Most propellant unburned in the barrel usually burns when it exits the barrel; "flash".

Guest clsutton21

Although this has nothing to do with primers or powder....some of your steel cased ammo *cough* can be a bit waxy and gum up your action, but that depends on the quality of your gun to some extent.

I have put several hundred rounds through my HK USPc .40, and most of it has been Winchester 165gr FMJ or 180gr JHP from Walmart. It leaves some residue, but not too much. After a box of 50, the gun really doesn't appear that dirty at all, and there's not that much residue on the patches.