AR15 Barrel Cleaning. One direction or two?

Guest SMZRU275

Guest SMZRU275

I am new to owning and cleaning an AR15. I've read up a lot of the process and keep coming across two conflicting ideas as far as bore cleaning.

Half the people say only go one direction in the bore, run the rod with brush down the bore from the breech, then after the brush exits the barrel, remove it before pulling the rod back through. ( Some people say do this ONLY because you won't pull any dirt back into the chamber, but I plan on removing the upper for cleaning, and will be using a bore guide)

The other half say run the brush down fully through and out the barrel, and back down through the barrel and remove it through the same way you inserted it.

Either way I am planning to use a bore guide, and might also invest in a muzzle guide. (like one Dewey makes)

Thoughts, opinions, how do you clean?

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest TurboniumOxide

Bore Snake +1

I am not too worried about it actually. As long as the metals in the cleaning equipment are softer than the barrel metal I don't think you are going to harm your bore. You don't want gunk in your chamber however, so I flush the bore from the chamber end and blow all the gunk out the business end. I do run patches through in only one direction though.

The bore snake revolutionized my cleaning practices, and has probably saved me weeks of accumulated fiddling.

Guest Todd@CIS

Use Shooter's Choice or Butch's Bore Shine and never use a brush again.

Soak a patch and run it down the bore a few times.

Wait 10-15 min (while you're cleaning the rest of the gun).

Blow it out with non-chlorinated brake cleaner and re-lube as appropriate.

"White patch clean" and a lot easier.

Edited by Todd@CIS
I am new to owning and cleaning an AR15. I've read up a lot of the process and keep coming across two conflicting ideas as far as bore cleaning.