The process of deer hunting?

Guest walkingdeadman

Guest walkingdeadman

So once again, I am very new to hunting with only 2 hunts under my belt, and one of those was rained out. I am curious as to the process in which deer hunting works.I have so many questions as to what time to be in my stand/ground blind. When would use any type of calls, ratteles, etc.I am not even sure if I am using the correct terms, but that is why I am here, for help. So please if you have the time explain, explain, explain all of your knowledge to help me become a better hunter. I have a couple of dvds and they are great, but they are mostly just the hunt, not the preperation. Thanks, Roy B.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Rem_700

I by far am no expert on deer hunting but I do try my best to always keep an open mind and to learn/ try new things. Just to answer your question,I always try to be in the stand at least 30 to 45 mins before the sun comes up.And in the evening i try to be in my stand atleast 3 to 4 hours before sunset.I can't give a specific time because the time changes alot from teh opening of bow season to the opening of rifle.I really don't use alot of calls.I carry a grunt call, If i can see the deer and its going away from me,i'll try grunting at it to bring it back,but other than that i've had no luck with calls.

Another thing you really shouldn't skimp when it comes to your stand or blind.You need to get you a comfortable stand or blind,because if your in the stand trying to stay focused because your uncomfortable,your not going to be able to stay focused on watching for deer,and they will sneak right past you,and you not even know it.