VA Non-Resident Permit

Guest Bill Cooksey

Guest Bill Cooksey

Hello all. First time posting. I've been lurking for quite a while, and I've searched all over the boards for an answer to my questions, but I've not found one. First I'll detail the primary question, but I have at least one additional question, and there may be more depending on the answers you are able to provide.

Considering the wait time in TN for a new permit now combined with the fact that so many papers are making it too easy for bad guys to determine the names of permit holders, I am considering applying for a VA Non-Resident Permit. It appears they issue much faster, and everything I've read shows that the permit would be accepted in TN. Am I correct so far?

If I'm correct to this point, and considering I have been a TN resident for many years would the six month rule regarding transferring the VA to the TN still apply, or would I not fall under that guideline since I was a resident of TN when I received the VA permit?

Thanks for any help, and it this has already been answered elsewhere please accept my apologies and just let me know where to go.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Interesting question. I have no idea what the answer is for sure.

Since you are a TN resident, I don't think a VA permit would legally allow you to carry here. TN law says if you are a TN resident, you must have a TN permit.

If you are going to end up getting a TN permit anyway, seems it would be easier to simply apply for a TN one to start with.

Even if you get the VA one then transfer it to TN, you will still be in the TN database when you get the TN permit, so you really haven't solved anything there.

Guest Bill Cooksey

Fallguy,

Thanks for jumping in. The best reason to get the VA permit is to stay off the lists published in TN. Other reasons include: