When to use the chamfer tool?

Ok guys - I'm totally new to the reloading scene. I just picked up a Lee 50th Anniversary kit last week at the fairgrounds. I've been reading books on reloading now for almost a month or so and I still have questions. In my first round of reloading I used ~20 rounds of spent .40 S&W Remmington brass. The entire process took me about 3 hours since it was my first time and I had to setup everything up on my work bench. Also just pointing out the fact that I was reading the instructions 2-3 times for each step before I tried anything. Everything sized perfectly and I was sure to use a digital micrometer I had lying around, don't ask - it's for another project, and made sure that everything was to specifications with my reloading information on this size cartridge. I haven't shot the rounds I made yet but I'm sure they'll all go bang. The question is when should I concern myself with the included chamfer tool included in the kit as well as the lock stud for tirmming the case? I guess in all my reading I really am not clear on the purpose of the tool. Sorry if this is a question that's been answered before or in great length. I just want to know with 100% certainity that what I'm doing is correct and safe. It's not worth saving a few pennies a round if I don't have full sight, hearing and both hands still intact at the end of the day.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic