Another good editorial from Roy Exum (Chattanooga)

dot_clear.gifRoy Exum: ‘Responsible’ Guns

by Roy Exum

posted March 9, 2009

article_146374.jpg

Roy ExumOnly hours before I took a class in order to carry a concealed handgun on Sunday, a man walked into the First Baptist Church of a St. Louis suburb and fatally shot the pastor with a 45-caliber pistol. This was on the same day that a man named Anthony Carter was shot in Chattanooga at the Emma Wheeler Homes and on the very same afternoon that LaTonya Stoudemire was critically stabbed on the city’s Heaton Street.

As I studied the others who were taking the firearms class yesterday, it did not appear that a soul among them would shoot a minister, gun down anyone at the Emma Wheeler Homes or viciously slash a woman on Heaton Street with a razor.

The fact that we do not know why any of these three horrors occurred was precisely why people all across America are flocking to gun stores and arming themselves in an unprecedented effort of self defense.

Despite the fact the economy is now at its worst since World War II, gun sales are so brisk that handguns are increasingly hard to find. Those who are taking classes in order to carry a weapon, to rightfully do so as prescribed by law, are having to make reservations as far as six weeks in advance and are willing to pay approximately $200, once you include the cost of the class ($75) with licensing fees ($115).

But the most unbelievable part of the whole scenario is best reflected in the census of those who are getting licensed. People who you would have never dreamed would be carrying a weapon are now seeking such a permit – not out of fear, not at all, but to assure their safety.