Value of a S&W 686

Guest bkelm18

Guest bkelm18

Hey folks, since some of you are esteemed revolver aficionados, what is the approximate value of a 15-20 year old S&W 686 4" in stainless. It has the adjustable rear sight but standard front sight. Thanks! :D

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I would say somewhere around 450 in good shape but im not a pro the other guys oppinion will be better placed.

Edited by jdavis

I see gun shops asking, in my opinion, extremely high prices these days for SW revolvers. I say that based on the fact that I see very few moving. One problem with the 4" 686 guns is that there were a ton of used police guns dumped on the market back in the early 90's. If you have the box and stock grips you should be able to get that $450. If it shows wear, no box, aftermarket grips, maybe had the trigger "worked"(always a problem with SW's) them you may not see that. I bought a 6" 686 with the wood grips from a fellow a while back for considerably less than $450, though I feel extremely blessed and lucky about that deal. Just trying to be real especially considering the economics of the times.

The police guns dumped on the market in the late 80's early 90's were the 681, with the fixed rear sight. Yes I agree the S&W are overpriced. They were mass man guns that had trigger probs, barrels were overtightened on them, several probs.

That said I have one of those 681's, I prefer it to the 686. It is overwhelmingly my preferred backup pistol when I am hunting, It is rugged, can get dropped and no worse for wear, no sights knocked out of alignment, doesn't rust. Hell of a gun. It's like the gun version of American Express, I don't hunt big game w/o it.

They won't rust if you keep them reasonably clean.I bought a 629 once that had quite a bit of rust on it.It is "stain-less" steel not " stain-proof " steel.

Guest Traumaslave