.22LR DOPE card

ehull20000

I have compiled the information for a DOPE card with my .22lr trainer, but I've never done this before.  If someone can review my process and maybe point out any areas I didn't think of I would greatly appreciate it.  

I gathered data in three ways.

First, I shot groups at 30, 40, 50, and 60 meters to measure the actual bullet drop from my rifle.  My rifle is zeroed at 30 meters.   

Second, I shot 10 rounds and recorded the velocities with my chronograph.

Third, I plugged the numbers I had into the ballistic calculator from the Berger Bullets website.  The DOPE card it spit out seems very close to my actual observed drop.  I think the only things left to do is watch out for velocity fluctuations due to temperature variations and record the effect of wind.

I also checked my scope for accurate tracking by doing a box test as well as just randomly twisting the turrets and then returning it to zero.  I'm pleased enough with it's performance although an upgrade is in my future. 

Thanks for any help.  

http://CZ 452 DOPE image_zpsozs4homv.png  

• Like 3
11 hours ago, MikeCarter said:

Just remember with a 9:00 wind your impact with by at 4:00 and with a 3:00 wind your impact will be at 10:00.  

Agreed, it's nice to figure out your dope up and down, but reading crosswind is the hard part.  It takes a lot of time to really get good at it.